A Four-Page Letter

I sent a letter to an old lover as a goodbye. I knew that if I saw him in person, my willpower would be nonexistent. It was to be a short few paragraphs but flowed into three pages of why I took this route and why it was necessary.

All of my adult life, I knew him as the ONE. The All had decided that he was my soulmate and had put us together fairly early. I was barely eighteen when I met him but I knew in my heart, he was it. Needless to say, he spent years happy with me before he decided to buck this knowledge.

As with all young love, we parted. And I felt as if I’d had my spirit ripped. He hovered in every relationship I had, dooming them to die. When we got back together, he did all he could to test my love and loyalty. Needless to say, you can only kick someone down so many times.

Hence why the letter was written. I’m finally in a place where I can see how far we had changed and whether I was going to continue to swallow his bitter medicine or seek my rightful spot. While I still vehemently wish he’ll get it right, I no longer want to be with him. I’ve come to far to not be seen and appreciated for what I’ve become.

I’ve grown and stretched in so many ways and to have to not acknowledge my hard earned efforts and lessons is to not be valued in my entirety. I wish him well. Maybe we’ll meet in another lifetime where he won’t be afraid of who he is or what he can accomplish.

Leave a Reply

